Life These Days: Update on IGNITE and the Next Steps

May 20th, 2017

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

Isaiah 41:4

“Who has performed and done this,
    calling the generations from the beginning?
I, the Lord, the first,
    and with the last; I am he.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How time flies…It blows my mind to think it was nearly eleven months ago when I first arrived in Antigua, Guatemala for IGNITE Class 11’s training. It’s even more mind-blowing to know this day that I have completed training, field time, and re-entry now currently standing in the midst of finishing the program with serving less than two months here at my home church. In the moment there were times I thought it would go on forever and now looking back I see just how fast life drives us by and how precious every moment is and can be if we choose to let it. How precious it is when we allow God to come in each and every day, and when we ask Him to fill us with His Holy Spirit, He is faithful and just to do so. How precious it is to me that the Lord allowed a sinful wretch like me saved by His grace to go…to go and serve Him, experience Him far beyond what I could see, and reach out to those, who for many of them had never tasted His grace before.

I’ve been back in my own home of the great outdoors Montana now for nearly a month (not including re-entry). Though Cambodia is physically distant from me, it and and its people are very near and dear to my heart, with at least several thoughts of it each day. There are even more thoughts of my dear friends, my brothers and sisters in Christ, whom I had the privilege of getting to know while I was there that occur throughout the day. Truly, the Lord does work in mysterious ways; He took a girl who was scared, not “ready”, and like Jonah in not wanting to go to a place far out of comfort zone, and He made me into a woman who fell in love with a country and people who showed me what true discipleship looks like when it’s walked out and reminded to embrace the freedom of Christ that each believer truly has been given.

What a journey these last eleven months have been, and I am looking forward for what God has in store. I am currently going to Browning every Saturday for about the next six weeks to serve in Kid’s Club alongside Potter’s Field, helping with Tiny Tots (a moms/children “get together” at the church) every Friday, and doing Kid’s Church alternating between Wednesdays and Sundays. I do ask for your prayers as serving the Lord continues every day, and it is only by Him alone that I can do these things and do them well. Along with my serving time, I have been looking for part-time work, knowing the Lord will bring the exact job that He would want me to walk forward in. With two applications I have sent in, I am anxiously awaiting expectant phone calls this coming week for interviews. Your prayer would be most appreciated concerning this. I know there is amazing power in prayer when believers come together to call on the name of our Savior, Jesus.

These are just a few of the things that are going on in my life, things the Lord has taught me and continues to teach and show me every day as life goes on. I could most definitely fill pages worth of things the Lord has done and the ways He has shown me who He really is and how He continues to do so. But for now I press on. I press on in knowing Him. I press on in learning to live and walk in His ways. I press on because I know He is in control and His promises can always be trusted because He is faithful and true. I press on simply because He is. No matter what this life throws my way, He leads the way.He is my rock and shield. He is my shelter in the storm. He does provide all that we need and never leaves not even for a moment. He will bring His plans for my life to completion. He does not bring things my way to harm or destroy me. He does have plans for my life to give me a future and a hope. He does not give up on me; He faithfully picks me up when I fall and always forgives my sin when I come before Him and confess it. Even when I start to drift or walk away, He doesn’t. He has never left my side. He never will. My God is good. My God is faithful and just. My God is unfathomable and His ways are far greater than my own. His amazing grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me. I indeed was lost but now I’m found. I was blind but now I see.

May our Lord Jesus Christ bless you and keep you. May He daily shine His face upon you. I pray you all are well and with encouragement I gladly put forward, “Press on!” Our Lord and Savior has so much more in store for each and every one of us. There is still so much He has for us to do as His children and disciples. There is still a huge and important calling on each of your lives, and Jesus is not finished with you yet. Rest in His peace, push forward in His strength, rely on His guidance, and press on in His love. With the following verse I close:

Hosea 6:3

“Let us know; let us press on to know the Lord;
    his going out is sure as the dawn;
he will come to us as the showers,
    as the spring rains that water the earth.”

All glory and honor to our Jesus Christ, our King, forever and ever amen!!

In Christ,

Kayla

Leave a Reply

